Back Arrow


The 5 Love Languages

By Naomi Whitfeld Seperating dot 03.02.2024

Articles featured image

When I first learnt about the concept of "Love Languages" it was a lightbulb moment for me in my relationship with Paul.

We've been together since I was 18, and we have such a special relationship, but suddenly it all made sense as to why sometimes we feel more in flow than others, and it all comes down to our different love languages.

The 5 love languages- physical touch, acts of service, words of affirmation, quality time and gifts- are the actions we connect with feeling love, and all of us have 1 or 2 of these that are our primary needs that we translate the most as actions of "love".  

Discovering each other's personal love language in a relationship can really help us understand how we can meet each other's needs and deepen our connection of love.

And as I was mulling this- I suddenly realised that home Spa Rituals give the opportunity for all 5 love languages to be shared!

When you regularly share home spa experiences as a couple, you naturally bring the actions of multiple love languages into your relationship.

The deeply relaxing feelings that come from spa rituals, combined with this dedicated time to share a nurturing experience together, gives the opportunity to nurture your relationship while at the same time caring for your skin, mind & body.

How couples can communicate the 5 Love Languages through Home Spa Rituals:

  1. Quality Time: Share a bath together and create a sacred space for couple time. Dim the lights, light some candles and add some bubble bath to create a romantic experience.

  2. Physical Touch: Trade a back scrub in the shower, a foot or head/shoulder massage and feel the mood shift as stress and tension is replaced with love and nurturing.

  3. Acts of Service: Take the initiative to set up a home spa ritual for your partner- clear any clutter, light candles, place fresh towels in the bathroom and run the bath for them.

  4. Gifts: Surprise your partner with an iKOU Ritual gift pack for a gift that keeps giving- you are giving not only a gift but also the gift of permission and inspiration to self-love.

  5. Words of Affirmation: Saying "You look so radiant and relaxed" or "You deserve this time for you" as you share a spa treatment makes a "Words of affirmation" type feel loved.

Paul and I have loved sharing regular "Sunday Spa Day" rituals as a couple for many years now.

These moments of shared nurturing truly deepen our connection, and they act as a punctuation in our busy week to keep our relationship thriving.

My tip if you are wanting to deepen your connection as a couple (or love for yourself)?

Try incorporating some home spa rituals into your week!

Wishing you abundant love,

x Naomi